Record Bonza for 10th Year

A record time and a record field for the 2019 Bank of us Run The Bridge.
February 17, 2019

The 10th edition of the Bank of us Run The Bridge delivered the events fastest ever time and the largest ever field.

Olympic finalist Brett Robinson lead home 3893 entrants across all events, to set a new 10km course record of 28minutes 30seconds, to finish ahead of Harry Summers and four time winner Liam Adams, who both also bettered the previous record of 28:57 set by Dave McNeill two years ago.

While Launceston Olympian Milly Clark spearheaded a Tasmanian trifecta in the women's race, in 34:28, ahead of Mel Daniels and Karinna Fyfe.

"I was happy to get the course record today.  I planned to go hard and Harry Summers kept up with me the whole way, so we pushed each other and both ran quick actually," Robinson said.

"I knew it was a pretty hilly course and I'm not too good on the downhills.  So I pushed hard on the uphills and got a gap, but I couldn't drop Harry and he was just smashing me on the downhills.  Luckily he got a bit tired with 3km to go so I was able to get a gap, but I couldn't get any more.  I couldn't go any quicker, I was stuffed at the end," he added.

Giving the lead women a 3:44 head start, the unique concept appealed to Robinson, as he also banked $2000 for winning the battle of the sexes.

"I could see the girls and I was catching them one by one, so I knew we running pretty quick.  We were thinking we would catch them around the 8-9km mark, but we actually got them just off the bridge closer to 6km because we went out so hard," Robinson confirmed.

Clark dominated the race early, opening up a sizeable gap by the time they approached the first drink station at Kangaroo Bay.  From there on it was a matter of holding off the men as long as possible and she was surprised with the victory.

"It was a bit of a shock to the system that one, as I've had a bit of an injury for 18months and it is the furthest I've raced in a long time.  It was just really fun to be out there, as I've missed those pre race jitters," said Milly Clark.

"It was really fun to be around everyone again, so I'm very very happy with the win.  It was a slow start, but I just tried to hold it together before the bottom of Rosny Hill, then pushed on the way up and see what happened," she said.

Both were awarded the IAAF Oceania Area 10km title, with Tasmanian's taking a clean sweep in the women's race.

"Great things come in small packages and Tassie is a small package, so it's good for us to be able to do that," Clark laughed.  

In the Hobart Skoda 5km Run, Phil McConnon lead home David Bailey and Abbas Rajab Ali in 15:24 to take out the men's.  While the women's race saw a win to Ruby See in 17:14 ahead of Ebony Webb and Francesca Smith.

A record of 3893 participated across all four events.